KEEN Leadership Council

The KEEN Leadership Council empowers KEEN partner institutions to shape and guide Network initiatives and activities.

The Council will:

  • Provide guidance on how KEEN partner institutions can engage and lead in the Network.
  • Assist with activities such as connecting new KEEN Leaders within the growing Network.
  • Provide input on promoting the entrepreneurial mindset.

The Council is inclusive and reflective of the Network’s wonderful and diverse range of KEEN partner institutions, in terms of size, focus, mission, geographic location, and more.

Nomination and Voting System

All official partner candidates were sent to the primary contacts at all KEEN Partner schools for review and voting. 

Virtual Suggestion Box

Virtual Suggestion Box

The KEEN Leadership Council has opened a virtual suggestion box. Have something positive to share? An idea that will help KEEN reach its mission? A question about a recent decision or announcement? We want to hear your thoughts! This is an anonymous way for you to provide feedback to the KEEN Leadership Council.

Meet the KEEN Leadership Council

Cheryl Bodnar

Cheryl Bodnar, Associate Professor, Rowan University

Cheryl has been a KEEN leader since 2016 when she helped to establish Rowan as a new KEEN partner.  Since that time, she has served as a facilitator for the ICE workshops and been selected as a KEEN Rising Star Award Winner.  Her passion lies in helping faculty see their own entrepreneurial mindset and assisting them in leveraging these traits throughout their work.  She looks forward to how she will be able to continue to shape the future of the network through the inaugural KEEN Leadership Council.
Erin Jablonski

Erin Jablonski, Associate Dean of Faculty, College of Engineering & Director of Pre-College Engineering Programs, Bucknell University

Erin has been involved with KEEN initiatives at Bucknell since 2011 and has participated in numerous conferences, workshops, and professional development opportunities within the Network. Erin has been a KEEN Leader for a few years and is honored to be part of the inaugural KEEN Leadership Council to contribute to and celebrate the fantastic accomplishments of colleagues from across the Network.
J-D Yoder

J-D Yoder, Dean of Engineering, Ohio Northern University

John-David (J-D) has been part of KEEN since 2005 in various roles at Ohio Northern University, where he currently serves as Dean. He enjoys networking with existing and potential KEEN partners. He has been part of a range of entrepreneurial ventures. His background is in vision-guided robotics and intelligent vehicles. His focus and reason for being on the KEEN Leadership Council is in improving undergraduate engineering education.
Jessica P.M. Fick

Jessica Fick, Associate Professor and Senior Design Coordinator, University of Wisconsin - Platteville

Jessica first attended KNC in 2018 and was immediately hooked on EM and its potential to transform programs and their graduates. Jessica led the efforts at UW-Platteville to become a KEEN partner in 2020. UW-Platteville continues to spread awareness and knowledge of EM through monthly Teaching with Impact seminars and EML HelpLine discussions and is developing new champions of EM through the KEEN @ P Leadership Academy. Jessica is looking forward to being more involved in the network and its future direction through the KLC.
Ken Bloemer

Ken Bloemer, Director, Visioneering Center, School of Engineering, University of Dayton

Dr. Bloemer attended his first KEEN Conference as an industry guest of the University of Dayton in 2010 and he joined UD shortly afterwards. With 30 years of prior industry experience, Ken witnessed firsthand the value created by entrepreneurially minded engineers. He is passionate about the EM movement and looks forward to serving on the KEEN Leadership Council.
Kurt Paterson

Kurt Paterson, Director and Professor, The Polytechnic School, Arizona State University

Kurt currently serves the U.S. Department of State as Senior Sustainability Advisor, following seven boundary-pushing years as Head of Engineering at James Madison University.  He enjoys reimagining higher education with others and then making it happen. Kurt is looking forward to elevating expectations for engineering education excellence through the KEEN Leadership Council.
Maria-Isabel Carnasciali

Maria-Isabel Carnasciali, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research, School of Engineering & Computational Sciences, Merrimack College. (KLC member by appointment)

Maria-Isabel has ten years of experience as a KEEN Leader. Over the past six years, she has been at the forefront of training and supporting faculty from across the network on how they too can embed EM into their courses. She has worked with hundreds of faculty as they've developed modules and EU Cards. Maria-Isabel is excited to be part of the inaugural KEEN Leadership Council to set the stage for the network’s long-term sustainability.
Marie Dahleh

Marie Dahleh, Associate Dean for Strategic Innovation, Tulane University

Marie participated in her first KEEN workshop in the fall of 2019 just months after joining Tulane University. This was quickly followed by a national meeting in Dallas. Most recently she participated in the year long story telling workshop for KEEN leaders. Witnessing the excitement from colleagues after attending KEEN events, motivated Marie to serve on the leadership council to help shape the future of KEEN. 

Find out more about KEEN